A press release from Speaker of the House John Boehner's office announces "a list of 132 American economists who believe the job creation strategy used in the House GOP Plan for America’s Job Creators will do more to boost private-sector job growth in America in both the near-term and long-term than the “stimulus” spending approach favored by President Obama."

The list is in response to Boehner's question to economists: "which do you believe is more likely to provide a boost for private-sector job growth in America in both the near- and long-term: a plan focused on billions of dollars in additional “stimulus” spending by government – or a plan focused on halting excessive government regulations and fixing the tax code to help private-sector job creators? A total of 132 economists indicated they clearly favor the latter strategy. The list of 132 economists includes experts from Stanford University's Hoover Institution, Carnegie Mellon University, and Harvard University; economists from the American Enterprise Institute (AEI), the Manhattan Institute, and the American Action Forum; and many others."

Here are the 132 economists who support the Republican job creation plan:

Douglas K. Adie

Ohio University

Tim Bastion

Creighton University

Walter E. Block

Loyola University New Orleans

Scott Bradford

Brigham Young University

Alex Brill

American Enterprise Institute

Edgar K. Browning

Texas A&M University

Phillip J. Bryson

Brigham Young University

William N. Butos

Trinity College

Victor A. Canto

La Jolla Economics

Kenneth W. Chilton

Lindenwood University

John F. Cogan

Hoover Institution

Peter F. Colwell

University of Illinois

Clyde Wayne Crews, Jr.

Competitive Enterprise Institute

Coldwell Daniel III

University of Memphis

William P. Albrecht

University of Iowa

Christopher Baum

Boston College

Michael J. Boskin

Hoover Institution

Judith Staley Brenneke

John Carroll University

Wayne T. Brough


Lawrence Brunner

Central Michigan University

James L. Butkiewicz

University of Delaware

Charles W. Calomiris

Columbia University

Don Chance

Louisiana State University

R. Morris Coats

Nicholls State University

Robert Collinge

University of Texas at San Antonio

Mike Cosgrove

University of Dallas

Robert M. Dammon

Carnegie Mellon University

Lawrence S. Davidson

Indiana University

Antony Davies

Duquesne University

Clarence R. Deitsch

Ball State University

Allan DeSerpa

Arizona State University

John Eckalbar

California State University, Chico

John B. Egger

Towson University

Frank Falero

California State University

Dorsey D. Farr

French Wolf & Farr

Fred Foldvary

Santa Clara University

Peter Frank

Wingate University

Diana E. Furchtgott-Roth

Manhattan Institute for Policy Research

Otis W. Gilley

Louisiana Tech University

Richard Gordon

Pennsylvania State University

Scott F. Grannis

Calafia Beach Pundit

John D. Grether

Northwood University

Dennis Halcoussis

California State University, Northwood

John P. Hoehn

Michigan State University

C. Thomas Howard

University of Denver

Ronnie H. Davis

Florida Institute of Technology

Joseph S. DeSalvo

University of South Florida, Tampa

Floyd H. Duncan

Virginia Military Institute

Francis J. Egan

Trinity College

Dorla A. Evans

University of Alabama, Huntsville

Eugene F. Fama

University of Chicago

W. Ken Farr

Georgia College & State University

William Ford

Middle Tennessee State University

Douglas C. Frechtling

George Washington University

James Garven

Baylor University

Micha Gisser

University of New Mexico

Ernest P. Goss

Creighton University

Paul Gregory

University of Houston

Earl L. Grinols

Baylor University

Kevin Hassett

American Enterprise Institute

Douglas Holtz-Eakin

American Action Forum

Forrest E. Huffman

Temple University

Steve Jackstadt

University of Alaska Anchorage

Joseph M. Jadlow

Oklahoma State University

Adrienne A. Kearney

University of Maine

Arnold Kling

Cato Institute

Kishore G. Kulkarni

Metropolitan State College of Denver

Dwight R. Lee

Southern Methodist University

Tom Lehman

Indiana Wesleyan University

Tony Lima

California State University, East Bay

William A. Luksetich

St. Cloud State University

Glenn MacDonald

Washington University in St. Louis

Michael W. Marlow

California Polytechnic University

W. Douglas McMillin

Louisiana State University

Allan Meltzer

Carnegie Mellon University

Jeffrey Miron

Harvard University

Frank Navratil

John Carroll University

Farrokh Nourzad

Marquette University

James B. O’Neill

University of Delaware

Brian Jacobsen

Wisconsin Lutheran College

Jason Scott Johnson

University of Virginia

Barry Keating

University of Notre Dame

Meir G. Kohn

Dartmouth College

Arthur B. Laffer

Laffer Associates

Don R. Leet

California State University, Fresno

Stan Liebowitz

University of Texas-Dallas

Alan Lockard

St. Lawrence University

R. Ashley Lyman

University of Idaho

Yuri N. Maltsev

Carthage College

Timothy Mathews

Kennesaw State University

Roger Meiners

University of Texas-Arlington

John D. Merrifield

University of Texas at San Antonio

Ed Miseta

Penn State Erie, The Behrend College

Jinlan Ni

University of Nebraska at Omaha

Lee Ohanian

University of California Los Angeles

Randall Parker

East Carolina University

Judd W. Patton

Bellevue University

G. Michael Phillips

California State University, Northridge

Ronald L. Promboin

University of Maryland University College

Paul Rubin

Emory University

Raymond Sauer

Clemson University

John Seater

North Carolina State University

Vlad Signorelli

Bretton Woods Research, LLC

James F. Smith


Dean Stansel

Florida Gulf Coast University

Derek Stimel

Menlo College

Alan Sykes

Stanford University

Daniel Talley

Dakota State University

Henry Thompson

Auburn University

William N. Trumbull

West Virginia University

Richard Vedder

Ohio University

Richard E. Wagner

George Mason University

Christopher Westley

Jacksonville State University

Mark J. Perry

University of Michigan-Flint

Barry W. Poulson

University of Colorado

Mario J. Rizzo

New York University

John Rutledge

Claremont Graduate University

Mike Schuyler

Institute for Research on the Economics of Taxation

George P. Shultz

Hoover Institution

Marc W. Simpson

Northern Illinois University

Lawrence Southwick

University at Buffalo

Jeffrey Steagall

Weber State University

Brian Strow

Western Kentucky University

Daniel Talley

Dakota State University

Robert Tamura

Clemson University

Steven A. Tolbert Jr.

Montgomery County Community College (PA)

David Tufte

Southern Utah University

George J. Viksnins

Georgetown University

Brian Westbury

First Trust Advisors

Gary Wolfram

Hillsdale College

Qi Zhang

Old Dominion University

Joseph Zoric

Franciscan University of Steubenville

Benjamin Zycher

American Enterprise Institute and Pacific Research Institute

Next Page