House Republicans today selected committee chairmen for the 112th Congress. Here are the results:

Kentucky's Hal Rogers will chair the Appropriations Committee. Rogers defeated ranking member Jerry Lewis of California and Jack Kingston of Georgia. Rogers is a known earmarker (though he now says he is reformed).

Fred Upton of Michigan will chair the Energy and Commerce Committee, beating out a challenge from Joe Barton of Texas.

Alabama's Spencer Bachus held off Ed Royce of California to retain his top post on the Financial Services Committee.

Michigan's Dave Camp will chair the Ways and Means Committee.

In addition to these standing committee chairmanships, members of the Republican Study Committee, a caucus of conservative House Republicans, selected Ohio's Jim Jordan to be their new chair.

Next Page