House minority leader Nancy Pelosi announced on Twitter that she has selected James Clyburn of South Carolina, Xavier Becerra of California, and Chris van Hollen of Maryland to serve on the joint select committee on deficit reduction (aka the supercommittee).

Clyburn, currently the assistant Democratic leader in the House, was the majority whip from 2007 to 2011 and has served in the House since 1993. Becerra, a five-term congressman, is the vice chair of the House Democratic caucus and, more importantly, sits on the Ways and Means Committee and is the ranking member of its Social Security subcommittee. The former chair of the Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee, van Hollen, is the ranking member of the Budget Committee.

Clyburn, Becerra, and van Hollen were the last of the 12 committee members to be named. They join Democratic senators Patty Murray, Max Baucus, and John Kerry, Republican senators Jon Kyl, Pat Toomey, and Rob Portman, and Republican congressmen Jeb Hensarling, Dave Camp, and Fred Upton.

Next Page