The United States Senate voted 94 to 3 to confirm one of its own, John Kerry of Massachusetts, for the office of secretary of state. Republicans John Cornyn and Ted Cruz (both of Texas) and James Inhofe of Oklahoma were the only senators to vote against Kerry's nomination to succeed Hillary Clinton at the State Department. Kerry himself voted "present."

Kerry, who was first elected to the Senate in 1984, was the Democratic party's nominee for president in 2004. He remained in the Senate after losing that race to George W. Bush.

Deval Patrick, the Democratic governor of Massachusetts, may appoint a successor to the Senate until a special election for the seat is held.

Next Page