All 47 Republicans and 11 Democrats voted against the Democrats' continuing resolution that would have cut $4.7 billion in spending through the end of the fiscal year.

Democrats voting no were: Sens. Kay Hagan, Herb Kohl, Claire McCaskill, Joe Manchin, Bill Nelson, Ben Nelson, Bernie Sanders (who is an Independent who caucuses with Democrats), Mark Udall, Jim Webb, Carl Levin, and Michael Bennet.

The bill that passed the House and would cut spending by $61 billion through the end of the year was rejected 44 to 56. All Democrats, who presumably thought it went too far, voted "no," as did three Republicans, Jim DeMint (S.C.), Rand Paul (Ky.), and Mike Lee (Utah), who thought it did not go far enough.
Last week, Congress passed a two-week continuing budget resolution to keep the government running through March 18.
Load More