The Blog

Earmark Moratorium Whip Count (Updated)

4:32 PM, Nov 12, 2010 • By DANIEL HALPER
Widget tooltip
Single Page Print Larger Text Smaller Text Alerts

On Tuesday, Republicans in the Senate (as well as those who are about to join the Senate) will vote in a closed door session on whether to support an earmark moratorium, which has been recommended by Senators Jim DeMint and Tom Coburn. The most comprehensive list of the current whip count has been compiled by Taxpayers Against Earmarks. According to the group's figures -- and reporting by THE WEEKLY STANDARD can back most of this up -- these are the senators and senators-elect who will vote in favor of the earmark moratorium: 

Earmark Moratorium Whip Count (Updated)

Kelly Ayotte (NH)
John Barrasso (WY)
Richard Burr (NC)
Dan Coats (IN)
Tom Coburn (OK)
Bob Corker (TN)
John Cornyn (TX)
Jim DeMint (SC)
John Ensign (NV)
Mike Enzi (WY)
Orrin Hatch (UT) 
Mike Johanns (NE)
Ron Johnson (WI)
Mark Kirk (IL)
Mike Lee (UT)
Rand Paul (KY)
Marco Rubio (FL)
Jeff Sessions (AL)
Pat Toomey (PA)

These are the senators and senators-elect, according to Taxpayers Against Earmarks, who will vote in favor of earmarks on Tuesday:

Lamar Alexander (TN)
Thad Cochran (MS) 
John Hoeven (ND) 
Jim Inhofe (OK) 
Mitch McConnell (KY) 
Richard Shelby (AL) 
Roger Wicker (MS) 

And this is the list of those who have not yet decided:

Roy Blunt (MO)
John Boozman (AR)
Scott Brown (MA)
Saxby Chambliss (GA)
Susan Collins (ME)
Mike Crapo (ID)
Lindsey Graham (SC)
Chuck Grassley (IA)
Kay Bailey Hutchison (TX) 
Johnny Isakson (GA) 
Jon Kyl (AZ)
Dick Lugar (IN)
John McCain (AZ)
Jerry Moran (KS)
Rob Portman (OH)
James Risch (ID) 
Pat Roberts (KS)
Olympia Snowe (ME)
John Thune (SD) 
David Vitter (LA) 

UPDATE: Senator Hatch now says that he'll support the earmark moratorium. The list above reflects this.

Recent Blog Posts

The Weekly Standard Archives

Browse 19 Years of the Weekly Standard

Old covers