The Blog

Nine Democrats Vote to Delay the Individual Mandate

10:11 AM, Oct 1, 2013 • By JEFFREY H. ANDERSON
Widget tooltip
Single Page Print Larger Text Smaller Text Alerts

As the Washington Post reports, nine Democratic members of the House of Representatives have voted to delay Obamacare’s individual mandate.  The nine are as follows:  Mike McIntyre (N.C.), Dan Maffei (N.Y.), Sean Maloney (N.Y.), Jim Matheson (Utah), Steven Horsford (Nev.), Ron Barber (Ariz.), John Barrow (Ga.), Raul Ruiz (Calif.) and Kyrsten Sinema (Ariz.).  The Republican-controlled House passed the 1-year delay of the mandate, in connection with funding the federal government, by a tally of 228 to 201.

US Congress 02

The Democratic-controlled Senate then almost immediately voted against the House-passed bill, thereby prioritizing blocking a delay of the individual mandate (even in the wake of President Obama’s unilateral and lawless delay of the employer mandate) over funding the government.

Recent Blog Posts

The Weekly Standard Archives

Browse 19 Years of the Weekly Standard

Old covers